Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Your first "winning" screen  (Read 2422 times)

snow dwarf

• Bay Watcher
  • Is always cold
    • View Profile
Your first "winning" screen
« on: March 26, 2017, 08:04:55 am »

So just had my "your strength has been broken screen" and it feels awesome. I've been playing already for quite a lot time and it's my first time, but it actually does feel like winning when you lose epicly in dwarf fortress. So do you want to share your first "victory" story?

My story:
In the end of the second year undead visited Crescentink and it seemed that I forgot to link up my bridges that led to trap maze, though I still had doors which I locked. In spring I decided to take things into my own hands and build an awesome weapon trap that I thought would at least weaken the horde, especially cause it was at the end of the weapon maze. When I opened my fortress to them I didn't think the zombies would path around the maze and only go through the single weapon trap which lasted just for the first 10 enemies. Than I could have locked more doors, but forgot I decided it was time for the last fight between dwarfs and undead. The last person standing was the mayor, sitting on a stairwell with a halberd he took from one of the goblin undead-warriors. He was lying there bleeding out and taking down 10 before dying with a named weapon lying on his knees. Pure awesomeness...
Here at Bay12 we excel at Theoretical Biology. Need to know the value of Merbone? Check. Need to know the density of a thrown Fluffy Wambler? Check. Need to know how a walking Mushroom can theoretically talk? Check.

steel jackal

• Bay Watcher
  • [UNIQUE_DEMON]
    • View Profile
Re: Your first "winning" screen
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2017, 10:32:46 am »