Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Fortress mode: Engraving images onto slabs  (Read 846 times)

MrLurkety

• Bay Watcher
  • Bogeymen are tasty. So am I, to the bogeymen.
    • View Profile
Fortress mode: Engraving images onto slabs
« on: May 12, 2017, 08:37:25 pm »

I think you should be able to engrave images onto slabs, for example, a hall of legendary heroes that won't restrict movement like statues.
I also think you should be able to put notes on these, either as captions or making it into a sign, for future adventurers.

For example:
This is a gabbro slab. On the slab there is an image of a jungle titan and a sparrow man. The jungle titan is dead. The sparrow man is laughing.
The caption reads "The smallest creature can overpower the greatest titan."
Bay12 Evo game
-snip-
I'm not an expert on the political climate but I'm pretty sure that politicians don't join armies and invade dwarven fortresses.

Shonai_Dweller

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Fortress mode: Engraving images onto slabs
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2017, 08:52:25 pm »

Who would carve the words though, and how would they be generated? I don't think there are any other examples of players being able to directly write stuff into the world yet (besides play aid notes).

Not that I think they definitely shouldn't be able to, but if you can freehand slabs, then why not books, poetry, musical forms, etc.

MrLurkety

• Bay Watcher
  • Bogeymen are tasty. So am I, to the bogeymen.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2017, 11:02:27 pm »

Who would carve the words though, and how would they be generated? I don't think there are any other examples of players being able to directly write stuff into the world yet (besides play aid notes).

Not that I think they definitely shouldn't be able to, but if you can freehand slabs, then why not books, poetry, musical forms, etc.