Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: No-armor tactics  (Read 3858 times)

Jenz

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
No-armor tactics
« on: June 08, 2017, 02:31:58 pm »

Im quite new to adventure mode, but i suddenly got super-exited for rougelikes (like seriously bad).

And i wonder about something, you see that i find armor kinda boring.

- Firstly i wonder, are there any downsides to wearing armor (weight or so)?
  Considering this is dwarffortress I guess so but, i dunno...

- Secondly i wonder is there any specific tactics that let you
  get the most out of the upsides?
(if there are any)

And that was all really, I think, almost.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2017, 04:01:31 pm by Jenz »

Ziusudra

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: No-armor tactics
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2017, 03:55:52 pm »

Yes, the weight will slow you down. But, the Armor User skill will offset that.

To get the most out of armor you need full coverage and as many layers as possible.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2017, 04:01:11 pm by Ziusudra »
Ironblood didn't use an axe because he needed it. He used it to be kind. And right now he wasn't being kind.

Jenz

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2017, 05:47:41 am »

Thank you, but the other thing i wanted to know is: are there any good tactic that requires or is better with light or no armor?
Or i could just put it like this: How do i get the most out of no armor?
Glad to see this awesome game has an active community.

Arthropleura

• Bay Watcher
  • Elven Historian
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2017, 07:21:26 am »

Thank you, but the other thing i wanted to know is: are there any good tactic that requires or is better with light or no armor?
Or i could just put it like this: How do i get the most out of no armor?
Glad to see this awesome game has an active community.