Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: No goblins?  (Read 1156 times)

xyzzy

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
No goblins?
« on: June 21, 2017, 12:32:44 pm »

Hi all, I'm new to DF and have been trying to teach myself to play over the past few weeks. I'm using the Lazy Newb Pack.   My first few fortresses died right after the first set of goblins or beasts arrived since I did not know how to create a military or attack/defend.   So for my latest fortress, I set the "Invaders" option to no in the LNP launcher at the start of the game so I could learn how to do these things.   I now have a fortress up and running with several squads equipped with iron armor and weapons which are training and patrolling, and the fortress entrance is protected by traps, drawbridge, etc.   I'm anxious to try to kill some baddies now so I turned the "Invaders" option back to yes, and keep waiting for goblins to show up but so far nothing, I've waited at least several seasons of game time.   Migrants and caravans keep coming, but so far no enemies.     Can the invaders option be toggled on and off at will to control goblin invasions, or since I set it off at the start of the game does it always prevent invasions even when I set it back to enabled?

I've also read that goblins might only show up depending on population or wealth.   I have a population of 160 and created wealth of 323,390  (no idea what the really means or if it's good or not).    Previous games where goblins did show up I had fewer than these numbers for both population and wealth.

StagnantSoul

• Bay Watcher
  • "Player has withdrawn from society!"
    • View Profile
Re: No goblins?
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2017, 12:46:39 pm »