Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Vampire identification difficulties  (Read 851 times)

Wastewhile

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Vampire identification difficulties
« on: July 14, 2017, 06:15:31 am »

Hi all,

I'm a complete newb with essentially no idea what I'm doing.  I have a fortress with a population of a bit over 40, the last migrant wave was 12-15.
I thought I'd better check for vamipres, and after reading the identification techniques in the wiki I identified 7 "possible vampires" - they all had large skill sets (10+) and a history of memberships in quite a few societies/cults/fortresses(?).
Some potential vampires are married to dwarfs who don't appear to be vampires (and some are married to other potential vampires).
I've locked the 7 in their own individual burrows.

My questions (not answered by the wiki, and I googled but couldn't find answers):
1. Can vampire migrants be married when they arrive?
2. Must a dwarf married to a vampire also therefore be a vampire?
3. Must a being married to a non-vampire dwarf therefore also be a non-vampire dwarf?
4. Do vampires ever show the thirsty status symbol?  I know they "get thirsty" (for blood), and have alcohol addictions, but do they or do they not show the thirsty status symbol?
5. One of the potential vampires froze in place when I removed all her labours and assigned her to a burrow, while she was carrying wood to a stockpile.  She wouldn't move at all even when thirsty until I cancelled her burrow assignation - then she delivered the wood and went to a still and got a drink.  Does this drinking mean I can definitively classify her as not a vampire?

Damiac

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Vampire identification difficulties
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2017, 07:31:46 am »

I don't have many answers, but I do have 1.