Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: A Mac newbie wondering about version 43  (Read 783 times)

Keybounce

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
A Mac newbie wondering about version 43
« on: August 11, 2017, 06:56:58 pm »

I am an absolute newbie to Dwarf Fortress. Until recently, I thought it was a graphical game for the PC. Now, however, I'm looking for advice.

I downloaded the official Mac release, but apparently, what I want is actually a newbie starter pack, not the official game. Lazy Mac pack comes in three different flavors, and the latest version of the game there is missing almost everything. As much as I see people saying that DFHack is a must, I've had other people tell me that the current version is perfectly playable vanilla without it. I'm seeing other saying that managing the dwarves without an addon is next to impossible, and at least the DfHack's mini-version of therapist is a must. I don't know what to know or where to turn to.

Equally, what I thought was a graphical game output turns out to be a separate modeling program -- so it's not just "Make a flat defense on the exterior ground" (one layer on the display at ground level) but "Build a 3d structure into the sky" as well as multiple layers underground -- so some sort of imaging program to keep this all straight and visible is going to be needed. But from what I understand, that means Armok Vision -- which according to Lazy Man means going to an older version of the game that is now running into memory allocation issues as a 32 bit program.

So I notice that I am confused. Please help me.

Fleeting Frames

• Bay Watcher
  • Spooky cart at distance
    • View Profile
Re: A Mac newbie wondering about version 43
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2017, 07:41:42 pm »