Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Help and Advice on finding a job as a Programmer  (Read 1347 times)

Akhier the Dragon hearted

• Bay Watcher
  • I'm a Dragon, Roar
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Channel
Help and Advice on finding a job as a Programmer
« on: August 16, 2017, 11:49:39 pm »

Background info:
While living in Michigan:
I went to a "technical education center" for half the day of my last year of high school and learned VB.net
   Received ACT Workkeys Gold Level Career Readiness Certificate   <--no clue if this means anything
I got an associates degree as a "CIT Developer"
   During the degree I learned C#, HTML, CSS, Javascript, SQL, some server stuff, and Basic computer maintenance
   Introduced to Object Oriented Programming and a number of other concepts
   Got 4 Microsoft Technology Associate Certificates which probably are out of date by now
      Networking Fundamentals
      Database Fundamentals
      Web Development Fundamentals (C#)
      HTML5 Application Development Fundamentals
   Because of nowhere good in the area I had an internship at the college itself
Worked at a number of part time/seasonal jobs which had nothing to do with tech

Moved to Lancaster Pennsylvania:
Until recently I have been going for a CS Bachelor Degree and have 92 of 120 credits
   Mostly learned Java and didn't get anything else new I hadn't already learned

Place Independent:
On my own I have learned a number of things
   Python, C/C++, the Entity Component System framework, A whole lot of random things from blogs, podcasts, and such
Also completed a couple 7drls
While not related to Programming I run my own YouTube channel with a lot of roguelikes and DF videos