Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: First date advice  (Read 1964 times)

helmacon

• Bay Watcher
  • Just a smol Angel
    • View Profile
First date advice
« on: August 26, 2017, 01:23:09 am »

I don't often stray into life advice, but, well, I kinda need some help here.

Here's the situation.
I'm a manager at a Dominos. She is a manager at a different Dominos. We only met once before, very briefly. I thought she was cute, but then I never saw her again and nothing came of it. Until yesterday. She was helping at our store for a particularly large order in the morning. We were working together on line for a few hours and she was very cute and we were getting along well enough so before she left I asked her if she would like to get lunch sometime and she said yes. We traded phone numbers, smiles, ect. Ect. And she left.
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Here's where the problem starts. I'm slightly ashamed to admit it, but at 20 years old, this is the first formal* date I have ever been on. Growing up, my parents had a pretty not so great dynamic that involved more holes in the walls than open displays of affection. As such, I've never really had a model for how to display affection or interest, or what a relationship is supposed to look like. (I suppose the latter isn't that relative for a first date, but, ya know, context and all that.) I've actually been pretty bad at it in the past too. For example, I wouldn't even hug close family members until just a few years ago because it made me so uncomfortable/anxious. I preferred handshakes. heh.
I guess what I'm trying to say with that long tanget on my upbringing is that, I have no idea what form this interaction is supposed to take.