Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Is It Possible To Assist in the Development of DF?  (Read 1531 times)

SabbaticGoat

• Bay Watcher
  • help im stuck in a aquif-blublubublbulubl
    • View Profile
Is It Possible To Assist in the Development of DF?
« on: June 05, 2018, 11:18:39 am »

Hey there!

I'm new to the game and I love it so far, I've probably put in more than 70 hours in the past week alone. That being said, I am also going off to college to learn software development here in August, and I already have some skill in Object-Oriented languages like C# (and I know DF is developed in C++ and OpenGL or something like that). I was wondering if anyone (or even He, Himself) knew if I could aid in the development of the game at all?

I wouldn't expect any pay, it would be more of a resume/portfolio project to be honest.

Thanks in advance!
hehe i became a girl

Telgin

• Bay Watcher
  • Professional Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Is It Possible To Assist in the Development of DF?
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2018, 12:21:00 pm »

Donating money is the only way you can assist, I'm afraid.

Toady doesn't want to collaborate on the project for various reasons.  I believe he's taken advice for bug fixes from some of those that have disassembled the game and built tools like DFHack, but that's as far as it goes these days.
Through pain, I find wisdom.

fishboyliam

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2018, 12:23:03 pm »

If I recall correctly, the two of them would rather keep it as a project between the two of them. They do have a Patreon, though.

SabbaticGoat

• Bay Watcher
  • help im stuck in a aquif-blublubublbulubl
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2018, 12:29:41 pm »

Understood!