Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Castle Glovegleeful  (Read 1261 times)

CDRW

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Castle Glovegleeful
« on: October 13, 2017, 10:31:36 pm »

Hello everyone. I'm a perpetual noob who's decided it would be fun to try his hand at writing a DF story. I make no promises about quality, consistency, or completion.  :P

This post is world generation and set-up. I'll have the first actual gameplay post up sometime tomorrow.

World: The Momentous Land

Entry 1:

My name is Urdim Alakonul. I am a recent graduate of Lowstone School of Architecture and Engineering, and I am a genius.

Being a recent graduate, most dwarves don’t recognize the brilliance of my everything. They call me a fool, a weirdo, and a human-loving pervert. It matters not, because my time is at hand. The crown is offering commissions to intelligent dwarves willing to brave the unknown and settle new lands for the glory of The Blockade of Bravery. Why should I patiently climb the corporate ladder in the Mountainhomes when I can seize glory right here and now?

So what if some of my ideas derive from Human techniques? An intelligent mind must be flexible and recognize good practice, no matter where it comes from. I’ll show them. After I have my way, nobody will be able to deny the beauty and function of towers, flying buttresses, balconies, and all other manner of above-ground construction!

I have just the spot in mind too. Deep in the untamed wilds of the Hills of Sieging, there is a forest. It borders the Human lands, hostile Goblins roam free, and rumors of a necromancer who guards his secrets jealousy abound. What better place could there be to test my theories? That is where I will build my castle!

Entry 2: