Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Goblin seige composition  (Read 1042 times)

Dragonborn

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Goblin seige composition
« on: October 20, 2017, 08:06:02 pm »

What kinds of war animals will goblins bring in sieges in the current version?

My understanding is that goblin sieges now have to originate from somewhere and travel to your site.  They are no longer spawned out of thin air.

I started playing DF right before 42.06, I think.  From reading the wiki, I've learned that in days past, goblins used to ride all sorts of creatures during sieges.  Things like cave swallows, giant toads, etc.  I have only ever seen goblins riding beak dogs.  Is it possible for them to ride more exotic mounts anymore?  My guess is that since sieges originate from somewhere real, they will use animals that they have access to, so maybe cave swallows are difficult to come by.

So my questions are: a) has anyone recently seen goblins use anything other than beak dogs during sieges, and b) what conditions are necessary to see the more exotic mounts?

PatrikLundell

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Goblin seige composition
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2017, 06:22:14 am »

I've never seen any mounts other than beak dogs (they're common currently, but not present every time), and they started appearing in 0.42.X (I never saw any in 0.40.X, which is as far back as my experience reaches). I haven't heard of anyone seeing any of the exotic mounts in goblin sieges in 0.40.X onward (I'm not counting whatever may be the case in mods such as Masterworks).
I don't know about human or elven mounts, as I don't go to war against them, but presumably humans should use horses and elves a large variety of (giant?) animals.