Finally... > Creative Projects

Exodus: The Space Station 13 Remake That Failed

(1/6) > >>

MoonyTheHuman:
I've been designing it for about 2 months now (very little code, mostly documentation, design implications, and research). The core of the project is written in Pony using a custom spin on the classic Entity Component System
Massive project, and, of course, as the joke goes: It'll likely sputter and die; but who cares, i'm going to do it anyways :)

So, some of the things I'm currently working on for it:
Domain Specific physics engine (no objects can rotate, but they can have 'heights', and a few other abstractions for a faster engine). (Scrapped, wayyy too many objects per average map for this to be viable. Everything is locked to tiles now.)
Atmospherics engine (I'm trying to make a atmospherics implementation that is fast and hardy, but not too over the top and actually runs on modern computers; so, of course, MOAR ABSTRACTIONS).
Client <-> Server communication protocol (It needs to be fast/small enough to handle complex structures and information, due to the amount of variability, but simple enough that it isn't the biggest pain in the world to work with)

Of course, this is almost all still on paper, but eventually, maybe in a few billion years, i'll have a working prototype with source code to boot.

https://github.com/Exodus-Game/exodus-server
https://github.com/Exodus-Game/exodus-core

Khan Boyzitbig:
Well good luck because you will need it. Its good to have a project to work on and its a learning experience at the very least.

MoonyTheHuman:
I'm starting to work on the underlying tile-based game engine a little more, now that the design is mostly finalized.

Chances of non x86_64 support is basically nil, tho. I want to optimize some parts with assembly (SSE and SSE2 vectors).
So no trying to run a server on a raspberry pi ;)