Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Can anything be done about migrations?  (Read 1258 times)

Snow Gibbon

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Can anything be done about migrations?
« on: November 24, 2017, 11:01:34 pm »

Hey all,
I'm a super old DF veteran coming back. Lately (and by lately I mean since about 2010) I've been pretty disgruntled at the migration rate - In 40d days getting a migrant wave was a bit of an achievement to get, nowadays you're pretty much guaranteed a swarm of 20 dudes within the first two seasons and it ruins the sense of progression. Migrants have always been in the "Its hardcoded" zone, has anything changed recently?

scamtank

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Can anything be done about migrations?
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2017, 12:28:31 am »

Nothing without external help, at least. The limits in the inits are the only dials we get.

Manzeenan

• Bay Watcher
  • [SLOWLEARNER]
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2017, 11:16:55 am »

i mean.. you can set a population cap? then just slowly accept visitors and get them citizenship as a roundabout way to control the influx of bodies to the fort

Alpaq

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2017, 01:44:07 pm »

As for my opinion: getting migration is one thing, making use of it is another, so migrants can be good but also often this riff-raff is completely useless mouths to feed in the begining and it only complicates situation in the fortress before you get them to use. I would not say it affects balance that much, I'd say it shifts the game focus to more of a macro-management one.
Maybe a world with very low dwarf pop or embarking in some desolate place would change migration values? I didn't experiment with this.

GoblinCookie

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2017, 11:10:06 am »