Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Patreon's new fees  (Read 2187 times)

c13303

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Patreon's new fees
« on: December 08, 2017, 11:23:34 am »

Hi,
I was supporting both DF and Peridexis at small monthly amounts on Patreon, but i'm upset with their new fee policy ( link )

What do you guys think about direct money wire, monthly, from bank with IBAN ? 

I'm just wondering .. You think it's a good idea or would it be too much of a mess, or too personal ? Or legally dangerous ?

(I mean as pure donations .. no goodies)

As a dev myself, it's also about thinking of anon-profit open plateform for money giving to artist, an open-source tool (instead of Patreon / bandcamp etc..) even if I believe it will be hard to skip the Paypal part

Kirkegaard

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Patreon's new fees
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2017, 12:35:22 pm »

Toady have not been on Patreon long, before that he just used paypal (and others) to receive donations. However it is quite clear that patreon have raised the total income by quite a lot.

For someone like me, that supports 10-15 different things with 1-2$ each, these new changes are really bad. They do increase the price by something like 35-40% with no upside for anyone but Patreon (the company) and I do feel quite robbed. That so large a % are being paid as a hard fee (+ 25% VAT on top of that in my case). A 1$ support ends up costing close to 2$. That is not right and I do consider cutting down on the number of people I support or stopping using it altogether :(

I really hope Toady use his position as a quite large player on Patreon to complain to the company. I already have, but do of course not have the same impact as a 5K/month creator.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2017, 04:44:40 am by Kirkegaard »

Mesa

• Bay Watcher
  • Call me River.
    • View Profile