Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Warrior Monks/Mujahideen/Crusaders?  (Read 1885 times)

Wilfred of Ivanhoe

• Bay Watcher
  • positively macabre
    • View Profile
    • My Music
Warrior Monks/Mujahideen/Crusaders?
« on: December 09, 2017, 11:20:23 pm »

Amongst while shouting my exploits to a tavern crowd only to be hit with a certain "An unknown creature was slain. It was inevitable"-bug, I noticed some monks walking out of the tavern. I took a closer look and it seems that these monks are caparisoned for war:

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

After talking to them, they tell me that they are soldiers by profession. Is this some sort of holy order that exists within the town? Is it normal for town guards to moonlight as monks at the local temple?
« Last Edit: December 09, 2017, 11:26:03 pm by Wilfred of Ivanhoe »
(1) You grab your golf bag and take out your gun. But then an Orc comes over and sensually gives you a massage. You decide to marry the Orc and live together. Unfortunately, the Orc walks over a slime mine and blows up. You commit suicide, unable to bare the thought of living with out your one true love.

ShinQuickMan

• Bay Watcher
  • Resident Mook
    • View Profile
Re: Warrior Monks/Mujahideen/Crusaders?
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2017, 10:47:26 am »

At first glance, they seem to be spies.

Loam

• Bay Watcher
  • a Moal
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2017, 11:05:53 am »

Probably spies. I believe they start out with the "Scout" profession in world-gen, which gives them arms and armor. Not very sneaky, especially when you can look at their decorated helms and mail shirts and see their real civ's symbol on them.
Thob Goes to the Surface (Adventure Mode story, in progress)

Untrustedlife

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • My Website
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2017, 12:23:59 pm »