Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Learning Swedish  (Read 2681 times)

Dark One

• Bay Watcher
  • 'What do I care for your suffering?'
    • View Profile
Learning Swedish
« on: August 30, 2018, 03:05:40 pm »

Greetings!

I'm studying English philology and I have already had courses such as linguistics, morphology, phonetics - they allowed me to understand English better, but also gave more knowledge about components of languages.

I'm interested in learning Swedish since I have first heard it and I would like to learn it. I thought about starting with phonetics and phonology, then moving on with other aspects of the language.

I would like to hear any tips on learning this language from its native speakers, anyone that is able to speak it fluently or languages teachers in general. It's always good to hear someone's opinion!

scriver

• Bay Watcher
  • City streets ain't got much pity
    • View Profile
Re: Learning Swedish
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2018, 05:48:39 am »

Tjena! I am a native Swedish speaker. I'm not sure what kind of tips you are looking for (you'd have to be more specific, I lack imagination), but here is my top three advice:

1. Take the potato out of your mouth (just in case you're Danish)
2. Don't trust anyone with a Stockholmian accent, they think they can speak Swedish but they can't. The poor fools can't even pronounce Ö and Ä! They say U and E respectively.
3. If you're okay with speaking archaic 19th century-speak you can get away with using I, the first person pronoun, the same way it is used in English, but you also have to exchange all other singular pronouns for "en" ("one").
Love, scriver~

Dark One

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2018, 06:45:58 am »