Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Armor User - Strenght and Encumbrance  (Read 2179 times)

menesvural

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Armor User - Strenght and Encumbrance
« on: February 14, 2018, 02:07:36 pm »

Hello everyone!

I am new to dwarf fortress and my question is how does armor user skill and strenght affect encumbrance? (I know that more armor user skill or strenght is better but I want to know how EXACTLY they affect it ; for example which armor is ok to wear at which skill level).How can i know if my dwarf is encumbered and how does this affect combat?

I searched wiki and forums, cannot find anything about weights of stuff (how much steel breast plate etc. weighs) or how much can average dwarf carry.I found some old info that says average weight limit is 2000 and an ultra mighty dwarf can carry up to 7000.It also says that adequate armor user skill (3) reduces equipment weight by 3/16 and every level after that reduces it by 1/16 up to 16/16 at Legendary (15).This is v0.28.181.40d version wiki page so i don't know if it's still true considering combat system changed a lot since then.

As for attack speed most recent version of wiki says that "Attack speed has been overhauled for DF2014. Research is impending."

Old wiki page on weights link : http://dwarffortresswiki.org/index.php/40d:Speed 
New wiki page on attack speed link : http://dwarffortresswiki.org/index.php/DF2014:Combat

Thank you for your answers.

anewaname

• Bay Watcher
  • The mattock... My choice for problem solving.
    • View Profile
Re: Armor User - Strenght and Encumbrance
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2018, 08:32:13 pm »

I searched wiki and forums, cannot find anything about weights of stuff (how much steel breast plate etc. weighs)...