Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Stay or Move: Career advice, life advice ... moving? please.  (Read 1674 times)

Robot Parade Leader

• Bay Watcher
  • Well, go on ... parade!
    • View Profile

The place I currently work for (on hopefully long term, renewable contract), is expanding to four cities in four states:

Albuquerque NM,
Phoenix AZ,
New Orleans LA,
Boston MA.

These areas would be cross country and cross cultural moves for me, pretty live changing, even if I could maybe transfer back.... I'm a contractor, people like me and my work where I am, but there's always worry.... Working as an actual employee would be fantastic.... Other options .... Where I currently live isn't great, between two metro areas (significant commute, but yeah). Also, things haven't been great for years, though I've managed.

If I apply for these positions, I imagine I'll probably take a pay cut and have to move cross country, probably long term, maybe... maybe with the chance to transfer back in a while. I don't know.
I'm not sure what to do.

Boston seems expensive, but I might like it there, winters aside (I could handle cold).
New Mexico is a cold desert. (and I hear it has some issues of its own? https://www.bestplaces.net/city/new_mexico/albuquerque)
Phoenix is a hot desert (and expensive)
I'm not moving to New Orleans. I'm sorry but no, I ... I just can't.