Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: [DFHack] How to make C++ utility without using Git?  (Read 1704 times)

SlimeOfSteel

• Bay Watcher
  • Novice Programmer
    • View Profile
[DFHack] How to make C++ utility without using Git?
« on: May 15, 2018, 09:38:41 am »

I want to create a C++ utility for DFHack, and I'm new to C++ in general. So I start looking up how to make C++ plugins when I come across this:

DFHack doesn't have any kind of system of code snapshots in place, so you will have to get code from the GitHub repository using Git.

It seems kind of pointless to just use a few commands when I could install the files myself, so I was wondering, would downloading the source code zip yield the same results?

EDIT: Also, is using Visual Studio necessary? Could I use Eclipse instead?

EDIT 2: Okay, I lied. I have no idea what I'm doing. Can somebody explain to me how to build dfhack or whatever? It makes zero sense to me.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2018, 10:06:12 am by SlimeOfSteel »
It works, but I don't know why.

Hugo_The_Dwarf

• Bay Watcher
  • Modding Mentor
    • View Profile
    • Regeneration: Forced Evolution
Re: [DFHack] How to make C++ utility without using Git?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2018, 12:19:11 pm »

Visual Studio isn't necessary however it normally comes with the required C, C++ and C# compiler and libraries. Without a compiler you can't build anything.

You could use Eclipse if you can setup a C++ compiler for your builds