Dwarf Fortress > DF Community Games & Stories

The marble walls of Tongsblunted: a novice's first true fort

(1/2) > >>

Simon_science:
While I know dwarf fortress is supposed to contain a lot of !!FUN!!, as a new player (okay, I started playing awhile ago but never really got into it) I wanted to get an easy starting position to truly setup a fort, and not find myself as incapable as a two year old within the first year of gameplay. I allways chose starting positions with two billion layers of aquifer or No weapon grade metals (only COBALTITE GOD DAMIT! AND NOW THERE IS A TROLL AND MY DWARVES HAVE BEEN WRESTLING IT FOR MONTHS.). Needless to say, I probably picked bad starting locations for a novice, though they were a lot of FUN. I mostly picked those locations because of some obsession with having an island fort, but finally I decided to let go of that. Now that I have less starting hurdles, I find myself doing very good progress, and i've decided to post here to get advice for the fort and for showing off/storytelling. Because i'm very familiar with some aspects of the game (construction, obtaining food, designations, the basics youknow) but completely unfamiliar with others (currently considers nobles useless vermin, what the heck are import agreements, dont talk to me about livestock and animal training ffs why do I allways get trapper migrants...) I feel like this could be pretty interesting.

Before I start getting into the meat of this though:

SPOILER WARNING

I spoiled myself HFS on the wiki worth it for knowing about archcrystal that run is amazing. Curiosity killed the expirience, but I feel it wouldent be in the spirit of the game to just exploit what I learned from the wiki without consequence. Therefore, I will not be using any adamantium, at all, untill I breach into HFS. That dosent mean I wont go in prepared though...