Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Two vampire visitors, one dead child - a delicate diplomatic situation  (Read 1462 times)

Klekavian

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile

So my fort has a... situation.

I have a diplomat visiting my fort. She is the law-giver for a powerful human civ, who happens to be a dwarf, and also happens to be a vampire. I know this because I perused the legends before starting my game.

I also have a human caravan from the same civ at the fort at the moment, and the guild rep also happens to be a vampire. I know this because she was announced as such.

I was hoping I could wait their visits out without any deaths, because I don't want to start a war with the humans. Their civ is pretty dominant, and mine is quite weak - in fact, I'm in the nascent stages of a dwarven repopulation project in my current world. Also I'm already at war with elves and goblins, and I just got through a pretty insane elven ambush, followed immediately by a goblin siege (there were so many bodies...), so the whole fort is already pretty on edge and I'm trying to stave off an all-out tantrum spiral as it is.

But now a child has turned up dead. One of these two bloodsucking diplomats has killed a child, and I demand justice.

My obstacles are many, though. First, I don't know which one to convict. Second, I don't know how to do so without having them scuttle the caravan and possibly start a war over the theft of its goods. Third, I don't know if arresting a foreign diplomat is itself something that would start a war. Fourth, both of these creatures are currently in the middle of a crowded tavern, surrounded by guards, and since my fort is already pretty stressed, I'd like to minimize casualties and cleanup if I can.

It's quite the situation. Ideas? Opinions? Suggestions?

Splint

• Bay Watcher
  • War is a valid form of diplomacy.
    • View Profile