Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Supply and Demand  (Read 6549 times)

Rufflikerex

• Bay Watcher
  • One time, a horde of Monkeys doomed my Dwarves.
    • View Profile
Supply and Demand
« on: October 21, 2018, 10:27:16 pm »

"Hey Dwarves, I'm a trader from the hottest fucking desert around and my home is surrounded by fuck tons of sand. Also, my civilization is on the brink of destruction 'cause of some big-ass dragon. Do you know what I'm willing to trade my precious food and drinks for? MORE WORTHLESS SAND!" -Some Human.

If you couldn't tell, I'm proposing that specific trading caravans value some items differently based on the location, wealth and state of the civilization that the caravan originates from. Maybe even out-right refuse items like sand if a trader lives in the middle of the biggest source of sand available.

Some examples:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

What do you guys think? I believe a more "alive" economy would add a lot more life to this wonderful game!
May ye remember Ladderbound's fate when one of yer fruit-pickers dwarfs be thirsty and not moving.
May ye seek out solutions before your dwarf drops dead.
Ladderbound provided the proof ye can be stuck at the top of a ladder.
All raise yer cups to Ladderbound!

KittyTac

• Bay Watcher
  • Impending Catsplosion. [PREFSTRING:aloofness]
    • View Profile
Re: Supply and Demand
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2018, 10:32:03 pm »

That's the Economy arc. It's planned, but it's not a priority.
Don't trust this toaster that much, it could be a villain in disguise.
Mostly phone-posting, sorry for any typos or autocorrect hijinks.

Rufflikerex

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2018, 10:33:18 pm »

Ah, I guess I missed that in the developments page...
May ye remember Ladderbound's fate when one of yer fruit-pickers dwarfs be thirsty and not moving.

Shonai_Dweller