Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: questions about nobles  (Read 613 times)

shoutwithap

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
questions about nobles
« on: November 11, 2018, 02:28:29 am »

Hi all, I'm new to DF and am starting my first fortress. A migrant caravan brought some new dwarves to my fortress, and after some time three of them suddenly inherited the title of baron/baroness at once. It's the summer of my first year.

From watching some tutorials it seems like it's abnormal to have any nobles until much later in the life of a fortress. What are the implications of having so many nobles so early?

I have some less broad questions too that I couldn't answer with the wiki:
  • How can I tell what caused this sudden inheritance? I'm imagining some coordinated assassination attempt or something and I'm very curious to find out, but my liaison didn't bring any such news.
  • I know how to build the accommodations they demand, but I'm less sure how to abide by their trade demands and such.

Thanks in advance for all your help!

Shonai_Dweller

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: questions about nobles
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2018, 03:01:37 am »

1) There's no simple way to check, but Legends Mode is where you'll find the information. You usually can't open Legends mid-game without retiring first (Dfhack has a way, not sure if it's working perfectly yet).
The old fashioned workaround is to make a copy of your save folder (or the the whole damn dwarf fortress folder, it's not big) then retire from that and check Legends.