Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Postgraduate Employment  (Read 1907 times)

TD1

• Bay Watcher
  • Childe Roland to the Dark Tower Came
    • View Profile
Postgraduate Employment
« on: November 27, 2018, 11:19:57 am »

Hey all. This is a rather wide-ranging (not to mention horribly subjective) question, so my apologies in advance.

Since I started university, and a bit before, I wanted to be a lecturer. I got a first degree with honours in English and History and started my Master's in History, and anticipate a first there as well (all being well). Recently, I've examined my ambition more closely and realised that I don't want to do a PhD. I feel like I could do one, but the drive to do so is gone - I don't want to be a lecturer, and while I love my subject I don't feel a PhD for the sake of a PhD is a good idea.

Which makes this my last year in education, and my future is suddenly uncharted for the first time.

As such, I'm going to be looking for employment, and I of course want the best paid job available. But I'm not even sure where to look, or what job I could feasibly do with a predominantly-humanities based subject. If anyone has any insights or experience with the same, I'd be thankful.

As an aside, I live in the U.K. (Northern Ireland), and don't have any plans to leave.
Life before death, strength before weakness, journey before destination
  TD1 has claimed the title of Penblessed the Endless Fountain of Epics!
Sigtext!
Poetry Thread

Telgin

• Bay Watcher
  • Professional Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Postgraduate Employment
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2018, 11:37:12 am »

I don't feel a PhD for the sake of a PhD is a good idea.