Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: DFHack and visualizing DF, where to even start..  (Read 1944 times)

robst

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
DFHack and visualizing DF, where to even start..
« on: November 16, 2018, 03:15:32 pm »

Hello,

always was kind of a small dream of me to have a cool dwarf fortress visuals. now i know there are stonesense and armok vision, but somehow they feel kinda wonky for me. don't know.

now recently i started learning unity and c#, and now i would like to try out building my own visualizier for dwarf fortress in unity.

where do i start, really? i think that i could use this DFHack plugin "RemoteFortressReader". apparently it can give me all the needed information from dwarf fortress at runtime, but other than that i really don't know where to start.

So do i need to write a script in unity that accesses the information that RemoteFortressReader gives me? And if so, besides unity, what is the common way of doing such a thing? Or do i have to do something more complicated?

greetings

rob

ragundo

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: DFHack and visualizing DF, where to even start..
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2018, 12:29:37 pm »

Your best option is, as you say, use Japa's RemoteFortressReader.
It provides to you a lot of "cooked" information ready to be processed by your tool. You will be using Unity, so C#, which has support for Protocol Buffers.

The other option would be to write a dfhack plugin in C++ and then, get all the data that you need from dfhack, process, package in protocol buffers and send it to Unity. That's what RemoteFortressReader do.
Cons: You need to be able to write a dfhack C++ plugin (relatively easy to do), generate .proto files for the data to be sent/received to/from unity, run protoc compiler to generate C++ files and add them to the source files of the plugin.