Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: We farmers now (Farm Sim thread)  (Read 1334 times)

Mephisto

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
We farmers now (Farm Sim thread)
« on: December 05, 2018, 12:06:11 pm »

For the purpose of this thread, "Farm Sim" refers to games wherein you farm, possibly using heavy machinery, and the various materials that you buy/sell may have variable prices. This discounts things like FarmVille and Farm Together - things always cost the same amount and things always sell for the same price, meaning there's rarely a reason to change what you plant.

I'm relatively new to playing the genre, though I've been aware of it for quite some time. I'm currently working my way through Farmer's Dynasty (think of it like a realistic Stardew Valley minus magic and combat - farm with big machinery, repair buildings, raise your social standing with the locals, and then get married) on PC and Farming Simulator 18 on mobile, though I also ran through the Farming Simulator 13 tutorials on PC this week. That last one is probably going to be shelved - it's so far out of date that I'm probably better off waiting until I "finish" Farmer's Dynasty and then jumping ship to FS19.

So, any other fans of the genre? Favorite games? Any must-have mods?

evanvolker

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: We farmers now (Farm Sim thread)
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2018, 03:07:53 pm »

Stardew valley is really the only farm sim I've played recently. I tried out Gold Rush (sim-related?), as I do a bit of gold mining in RL as a hobby. It was alright, but there was no prospecting which is one of the more fun things to do in gold mining. I'm kinda looking for something new to play. Farmer's Dynasty looks interesting, but the 3d models for the people are hideous and makes me feel like getting together and breeding with any of them isnt doing anyone a favor lol. How are you liking it so far?