Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Trapped on an island... Almost  (Read 982 times)

Near

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Trapped on an island... Almost
« on: January 13, 2019, 11:23:45 pm »

Im new to the game, i created some worlds just to learn things, when i finally decided that was time to create one for good, to make a long lasting fortress that will create an epic story. First try, no iron... ok i can live with that, everyone lets keep making crafts to trade... hot climate, ok, i think we will live from alcohol, lets produce a ton of that with a lot of diferent plants. Goblin atacks, I dont have any form of armor... weapons, then i tried to trade with the elfs wood, got offended by their insult and killed them, just loose a trading partner and gain an enemy i cant figth... Ok, lets try a new world. (lots of tries to get a good one but is very hard to find one with iron).

Embark on a location with flux, lots of hematite, warm so 0 problems with ice, many trees but not too much. I played a lot, got my first decent (25) dwarf army fully equiped with steel, and my first traps in place with a lot of creativity putted into them. I notice that only dwarf traders come every year (3 years in a row of not coming anymore), no elfs, and not a single goblin on about 5 years. Turns out im almost trapped on and an island, theres a very narrow path to the main land (The path is in a way everything at the mainland is at least 5 day of travel apart). The nearest place to atack was a dark elven fortress 7 days of travel but i razed it (it was very small). I went and raided a 2000 goblin fortress just to begin a war (it said we were at peace) like 2 years ago and they have not come.

Does Goblins not atack you if you are x days apart from them?
       ###### <--- My island
### <-- Only path to the main land
##### <-- Main land