Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: No migrants, no merchants, even though civ is not dead.  (Read 1189 times)

BigIndianFish

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
No migrants, no merchants, even though civ is not dead.
« on: January 26, 2019, 11:59:13 am »

Hey everyone, I started playing dwarf fortress about a month ago and I love it, but after creating a new fortress I encountered a reccurent problem and I don't know what's causing it.

The first migrant wave is nowhere to be seen, even after 3 years, same goes for merchants. I didn't get any message about it ("no outpost liaison, how curious", "no migrants have come this year" etc..) Which is really curious to me. I did check my files and the migrant caps (strict and normal) are set to 200 and 220, I actually didn't change anything before the problem occured, or even after that.
I figured I would create a new fort and make sure to embark near my civilisation, no luck, I then created a new world, made sure my civilisation was alive and well, embarked near them, then far away, then I reinstalled the game, and I'm still not getting any migrants. Only visitors (some of them dwarfs).

I'm sure the problem is something really dumb and I should have figured it out long ago, but I just wasn't able to find someone with the same problem.

Any suggestion would be really appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

« Last Edit: January 26, 2019, 12:09:00 pm by BigIndianFish »

Sarmatian123

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: No migrants, no merchants, even though civ is not dead.
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2019, 01:16:35 pm »

Did you try running plain vanilla client alone on those embarks?

BigIndianFish

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2019, 02:26:48 pm »

Did you try running plain vanilla client alone on those embarks?