Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Why is Dwarf Fortress still using HTTP?  (Read 2533 times)

bertbarend

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Why is Dwarf Fortress still using HTTP?
« on: April 14, 2019, 12:33:04 pm »

Hello,

I recently started playing Dwarf Fortress and i'm really liking it so far but when I visited the website I asked myself something, Why is HTTP still being used on the website and forums etc?
This is still a major security issue because the data stream can be intercepted, including passwords.

Regards, Bert

Quietust

• Bay Watcher
  • Does not suffer fools gladly
    • View Profile
    • QMT Productions
Re: Why is Dwarf Fortress still using HTTP?
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2019, 07:02:52 pm »

It wasn't too long ago that Let's Encrypt didn't yet exist, and SSL certificates were expensive and troublesome to configure - things have changed since then, but there probably hasn't been an overwhelming desire to update the forums.

I wouldn't characterize it as a "major" security issue, since it's unlikely to be a problem unless you're connected to a public network. Also, the main website doesn't require any credentials at all - only DFFD and the Forums require a login to post, and those credentials probably aren't of extremely high value (and they should be useless everywhere else if you're using unique passwords on every website you visit).