Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: possibly the wor-...funnest idea a newb could have!  (Read 2015 times)

Emerald-Ignis

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
possibly the wor-...funnest idea a newb could have!
« on: April 12, 2019, 08:53:23 am »

im rather new to this game,having only just figured out enough to have some fun, as a result ive decided it would be a great idea to embark in a area with terrifying surroundings! :P Anyways, im looking for suggestions on how i could make my fortress somewhat liveable despite being in a evil biome.
Background-
3 of the 16(4x4) embark tiles are not evil,but heavily forested with an aquifer(the evil portion does not have an aquifer)
all the surrounding undead are currently...just dead,and mangled.
in order to ensure they survive, i made my dwarves 4 shield using hammer dwarves,and two striker/wrestlers and one doctor,all equiped with full copper gear.(food and seeds+other stuff are leftover from a previous,failed embark)

so,any suggestions? doesnt need to specifically related to the whole evil biome thing,just anything that could be useful or fun for a new player like me. thanks.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2019, 08:57:40 am by Emerald-Ignis »

Telgin

• Bay Watcher
  • Professional Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: possibly the wor-...funnest idea a newb could have!
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2019, 09:29:12 am »

The general suggestions I've seen revolve around getting underground as fast as possible and preferably having a way to seal off the entrance.  That's mostly important for biomes with evil weather or rain though, so if you don't have that you might not be in for too much trouble.  Especially if it's not a reanimating biome either.

If it doesn't reanimate and you don't have evil weather, then you actually probably won't have all that much trouble.  It won't be all that much different from a regular embark.