Finally... > Life Advice

What things do you consider when getting into game development?

(1/2) > >>

Anrlndo:
Hi guys. I'm new to the forum and new to DF. I'm inspired by Zach and Tarn's work and I would like to start developing my own games. I've got some basic skill in Python and I have a few questions for anyone that would be interested in helping:

1. What technical aspects should you consider when getting into game development? the things that I can think of thus far are:
graphical models
music
animation
concept design
story writing/character development
programming experience

Am i leaving anything out here?

2. Programming language - which would be the best for an open source sandbox game with basic graphics? I'd like to develop a game with graphics like some of the packs included in the LNP for DF. What language would you recommend? I have some experience with Python, what else would be best to get familiar with?

3. Any other major tips or things to consider if I seriously want to get into developing my own work? I just want to work on it in my spare time and release it for free for people to enjoy.

4. Any good online sources or courses (paid/unpaid, idc atm) that can help me learn these basic things?

Thanks so much, hope to hear from you guys soon!

Levi:
1) Trigonometry!  I only mention it because I suck at it and it always seems to come up.

hawkeye_de:
Hi Anrindo,

it depends what your are trying to do...do you want to create a roguelike with similar graphics like DF ? Or more graphic-intensive games ? Just be aware of that more ambitious your visuals are, the effort will be also exponentially higher. So in any case start simple!

Python is fine to start with.

Just tell a little more what y wanna achieve, then we could give more concrete tips.

Anrlndo: