Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Thoughts/emotions, preferences, stress, and (in)sanity in Adventure Mode?  (Read 2335 times)

SpaceMetal

• Bay Watcher
  • Short scrawny creature fond of drink and laziness.
    • View Profile

I'm an adventure noob, and as soon as my third character entered her local drinking mound for the first time, some other dwarf hanging out there killed another patron. Everyone denounced the murderer, but the murderer just kept hanging out there over the corpse of her victim.

Is this a normal thing? Can NPCs throw tantrums in adventure mode, and can they (or adventurers) go insane? My adventurer's description has a list of her recent thought/emotion pairs, just as in Fortress mode, but does stress accumulation actually happen?

I'm also curious as to whether preferences exist in Adventure mode. My adventurer's description doesn't have any - though I've heard there's a way to see them with DFHack, which I don't have installed. Presumably satisfying the Eat Good Meal need would require eating something on the prefs list, as in Fortress. I've also seen NPCs say "I like light poetry" or "I love ribald poetry!" when my adventurer performs - is that preference-related?
SpaceMetal likes silver, sapphire, alpaca wool yarn, maple trees for their autumn coloration, and cats for their aloofness. When possible, she prefers to consume cow cheese, goat cheese, cherries, and wine. She absolutely detests bats.

golemgunk

• Bay Watcher
  • you are melting!
    • View Profile

You might have just witnessed the result of a particularly vicious drunken brawl. There's no real justice system, so I guess the people nearby can't do anything but spit on the killer.

Your adventurers do experience emotional stress but I don't think it currently has an effect on you. You might occasionally notice your guy has been crying a lot though.