Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Game graphics  (Read 1499 times)

compsognathus

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Game graphics
« on: August 08, 2019, 05:16:36 am »

I like ascii code for the fortress (the steam graphic ... no! but ok! lol)

Is it not possible to take an old graphic engine for adventure mode? Similar to daggerfall for example.
Creatures and characters are 2d sprites.  I love old graphics!

if someone coordinates the project we could help him design the sprites, or
an open source (old) graphic engine.
I know " C " but I have little experience.

« Last Edit: August 08, 2019, 05:23:03 am by compsognathus »

Shonai_Dweller

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Game graphics
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2019, 05:22:38 am »

The updates for Steam will include a bunch more support for graphics. So you'll probably be able to work out whatever kind of graphics you like then.

That is, if it's not actually already possible (there's a lot of graphics packs out there already, have you checked them yet?).

--edit
Oh, your screenshots appeared. Hmm. Harder. Especially with all the variety of creatures in the game. Armok Vision is going for full 3D, have you tried that?
« Last Edit: August 08, 2019, 05:26:03 am by Shonai_Dweller »

compsognathus

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2019, 05:24:30 am »

yes I saw them but I prefer the ascii code.

I wrote the post for lovers of old graphics.

PlumpHelmetMan

• Bay Watcher
  • Try me with sauce...
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2019, 07:05:07 am »

I think 3D graphics even of mid-90s quality would be hard to implement for a game as complex as DF. IIRC trouble with handling graphics was a big part of the reason the original Slaves to Armok was scrapped.
It's actually pretty terrifying to think about having all of your fat melt off into grease because you started sweating too much.