Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Merchants get stuck no matter what.  (Read 1099 times)

madpathmoth

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Merchants get stuck no matter what.
« on: January 02, 2021, 10:39:14 pm »

I am still pretty new to this, but this is the second fort in a row where dwarven merchants keep screwing themselves over in ways that endanger me or make it so they will be upset and not bring traders next year.  This time is really annoying; it's nearly winter and they won't leave despite having "departed" a month ago; two merchants pulling horses just laid on the ground and refused to move even though nothing is wrong with them; one of them is just laying down in my kitchen for no reason.

The diplomat is one z-level up in my tavern just having a good time.  I'm really kind of annoyed; I don't want to have to go without the best source of trade again for years for no reason.  Is there anything I can do to get them to leave?  DFhack included, I don't care about cheating to fix broken AI.

Thisfox

• Bay Watcher
  • Vixen.
    • View Profile
Re: Merchants get stuck no matter what.
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2021, 03:19:06 am »

They might be walled in. Is that a wall there where the cart is meant to go out of the enclosure there? It sure looks like one...

Otherwise it could be that a tree grew in the way when they were parked in the trade depot, and now they can't make it to the edge of the map. Future prevention measures could be as simple as a nice, wide paved r{o}ad to-and-from the edge of the map.
Mules gotta spleen. Dwarfs gotta eat.
Thisfox likes aquifers, olivine, Forgotten Beasts for their imagination, & dorfs for their stupidity. She prefers to consume gin & tonic. She absolutely detests Facebook.
"Urist McMason died out of pure spite to make you wonder why he was suddenly dead"
Oh god... Plump Helmet Man Mimes!

madpathmoth

• Bay Watcher