Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Overthrow a captured king who is fighting for the enemy?  (Read 3068 times)

Felix_Dorf

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Overthrow a captured king who is fighting for the enemy?
« on: August 21, 2019, 06:49:03 am »

I'm fairly new to Dwarf Fortress and am now on my second fort and having a great time.

I have founded a fort "Safemountain" far away from our civilisation's ancient mountain range. It is going well.

Our civilisation, The Hale Fortifications, is a once mighty nation brought low by 90 years of genocidal wars waged against it by two neighbouring Elf "civilisations". We fought with honour and courage, slaying many more of them than they did of us, but there were to many. The collapse came in 242, when 25 of our 28 remaining holds fell. By 250 the Hale Fortification had only three holds, two inhabited by goblins pretentiously calling themselves by ancient dwarven titles, and the last was inhabited by a group of only seven Dwarves. That a project began to save the remnants of our rich and ancient culture by building a fort across the sea among a group of friendly humans. The fort would be called "Safemountain."

But what of the king? King Mebzuth Roomhelms has ruled since 125. His rule has seen the fall of all but three holds and the murder of almost all her people. Yet he lives. Worse, he lives in dishonour. In the year 133 the mountainhome Confinecaves fell the the Elves. King Mebzuth allowed himself to be captured and continued to live at Confinecaves, working with the Elves. In 149 he joined the Elven assault on his own people, killing and EATING a dwarf at Mirrorvises. He repeated this abomination during another attack on his own people in 161. Since 230 he has sunk even lower, becoming obsessed with immortality, presumably to avoid the righteous judgement of the gods of the Hale Fortification.