Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Help! Not sure if this is the right place to post this but here goes  (Read 1628 times)

AlphaNomad

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile

Hi all,
I am fairly new to DF and honestly never use forums but this game and my question is fun enough for me to post so here goes,
First an explanation and background,
I have an older 2011 laptop that was running 64 bit win 7, I am not a huge computer expert but I know enough to get around the basics, I got an annoying bug that was slowing my computer down so I did a clean install of xp,
I did xp because that is the os that was sent with this laptop when new, my folks had upgraded to 7 and when they gave it to me did not have the win 7 disk just the original software discs that shipped with this unit.
Now due to another bug which I've found is common but I cannot seem to fix I cannot connect to the internet with this anymore and I found that the xp version is a 32 bit os.
Now through much trial and searching and reading of guides I found a 32 bit version of DF that I downloaded to USB and successfuly installed to my system  (v0.44.11)but it is only the ASCII version. I have done everything I can to get some simple graphical tilesets and cannot get any of them to work. I even found a version of the launcher with tiles that is 32 bit compatible but I cannot get it to work.
My question now is as annoying and awful for me to ask you guys does anyone have a file of DF with a simple and clear tilesets that will run on a 32 bit win xp laptop that I could download to USB and then to my laptop?
I was really loving the game and just starting to learn it but cannot seem to be able to understand the pure ASCII version, I have been trying with the DF I have on my system but just cannot seem to wrap my head around the symbols.