Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: [SOLVED | Thank you everyone who commented!] Seemingly Endless World Rejection  (Read 816 times)

Fi

• Bay Watcher
  • φ
    • View Profile

Hello, I recently started playing Dwarf Fortress after a friend told me about its Adventure Mode (I love Classical Roguelikes), and I decided to install GM-X's Dark Ages III: War & Mythos since it seemed to be the only mod I have found that truly supports making Adventure Mode a scary, thrilling, and magical experience—magical being the most important of all to me since I learned that Dwarf Fortress doesn't quite have magic, yet.

I have been facing issues with world generation—so much issues with world generation that I have yet to fully experience the wonders of Dwarf Fortress, and I am sincerely hoping someone or anyone from here could help me figure out what I need to do to help Dwarf Fortress successfully create a world for me to play in.

To generate my worlds, I use the settings from Basic World Generation because I am not at all familiar with the depth Advanced World Generation provides. These are the settings I have been using:

I picked these settings because six of them were recommended to me by the wiki's guide for new players of Adventure Mode, and I enjoy playing in large worlds where exploration and discovery will be seemingly endless.

While watching Dwarf Fortress attempt to generate my worlds, I noticed these things:
  • Before rejection, Dwarf Fortress stops at placing "40" civilizations after rapidly counting down from "80" civilizations.
  • A warning about being unable to place enough civilizations appears more often than the below warning.
  • A warning about low elevation appears less often than the above warning.