Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: (0.47.xx) Mountains of Sorrow - Races and miscellaneous stuff pack  (Read 2760 times)

sorlaczeraus

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile

This is my first mod, and it's a mod that I've been working on and off (mostly off heheh) on since late 2017. Normally I forget about it for a few months, then get inspired and implement a couple more ideas, then forget about it again. I think I've posted a couple builds on it on Tumblr, but didn't really gather the confidence to create an account and post it here. It started because I thought it'd be cool to see ents in Dwarf Fortress, and eventually sprawled into a content pack including new races, creatures, weapons, unique "magic" racial abilities, and an alchemy system that I'm still trying to get to work.

New Races
Mountains of sorrow includes 7 new civilized races and a special mutated caste caste that shows up among some civilized races.

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

New Creatures
Mountains of Sorrow also adds a few new creatures, most of which are extinct and/or made-up megafauna that can be used as mounts/pack animals/war animals.

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Firearms

Like I said, only cactaii have access to firearms by default, however dwarves can gain access to them through some custom reactions at a metalsmith's forge (in the future I plan on creating a specially dedicated gunsmith workshop).

With an unit of wood and a bar of metal you can craft either a pistol or a musket, with muskets having a longer range but being heavier and slower to recharge. You can also craft a special type of dagger called bayonet, which can be commbined with a musket to create a bayonet musket, which is pretty much a musket that can be used as a sword as a secondary attack.