Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Cowed Return  (Read 1326 times)

bobcowski

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Cowed Return
« on: April 06, 2020, 11:01:11 am »

Howdy everyone.

I'm creating this thread to prevent a necro post of an old thread, but noticed a few months back that there was a topic in regards to the game Cow RP/Cowed. As a child I used play the heck out of those game. Of course upon happening upon a few topics regarding it I searched to see if either games were still active, which unfortunately wasn't the case. So I spent a few months looking through my old laptops and PCs HDD only to happen upon a copy of some old source code of Cowed. I spent some time learning Byond programming as I'm a software engineer by trade, in which I modified the crap out of the code and more or less just made a sort of updated version of Cowed.

I've popped up a Hub on Byond for it and have a server hosted for the time being. The overall goal of this little project is to just play around with the game like I did as a kid, with people of course, and hopefully within the month, with some additional modifications to the source code, will post both the unmodified and modified sources onto the Hub too, so if anyone wants to give the game a go and heaven forbid it die again, at least they can play it. Anyhow I felt I should at least pop a post up about this for those who seemed interested in the old thread.

HUB; http://www.byond.com/games/Cowed_Revival/CowedRevival?tab=index
Post I'm referring to; http://www.bay12forums.com/smf/index.php?topic=174586.0

Thanks. :)

Ozyton

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Cowed Return
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2020, 12:50:03 pm »

Woah. Did not expect to see an actual post from an escaped lunatic. I might check it out later if this is legitimate, I have plenty of free time because of current events.