Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Ideas for improving pathfinding performance (Rewritten)  (Read 5104 times)

eurydike

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Ideas for improving pathfinding performance (Rewritten)
« on: April 07, 2020, 03:01:14 pm »

Introduction and disclaimer
I'd like to begin this post by mentioning that I have no formal background in any of the related fields nor do I have the proper understanding of those fields, and I have not done a lot of groundwork in preparing this post, but instead I am mostly writing it spontaneously without preparation. In addition, I only discovered Dwarf Fortress recently, two weeks ago or so. Despite that it is somewhat insolent to assume that I could contribute to this challenging topic, my intuition is that there is a fair chance the ideas discussed here might be useful in improving the pathfinding system. I heard that Dwarf Fortress is using a pathfinding system called A-star or A*, and have not looked at how it actually works. Instead, I merely assumed that it works a certain way, given some performance issues that rumouredly are prevalent in Dwarf Fortress, although Dwarf Fortress seems to work well, given the complexity of it. It's a bit absurd that I also included a brief introduction to some related fields despite not having any formal training nor knowledge of them. My intuition regarding them is, that the readers might be able to sense that they could be relevant to pathfinding.

Vagueness of the post