Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Vettlingr's Geology Overhaul Mod, WIP  (Read 9141 times)

vettlingr

• Bay Watcher
  • Þjóðalfur
    • View Profile
Vettlingr's Geology Overhaul Mod, WIP
« on: April 25, 2020, 06:09:38 pm »

Hi. I'm Vettlingr, you may know me from Vettlignr tileset or that other Domestic Dwarven creature mod.
I am also a geologist, and have a stark interest for rocks and other hard, rough, angular things.

Recently I have thought about how to add more authenticity and diversity to dwarf fortress portrayal of Geology.
If you haven't already, I suggest you try out the 3dveins plugin in DFhack, as it fixes the static geology as it is now.

With but editing the raws, I have set forth on representing aspects of geology not yet implemented in dwarf fortress.
It comes to no surprise that real geology is a lot more complicated than what DF is able to portray. In return, very few games really make an effort to portray geology in a realistic sense anyway, partly because only parts of geology is systematic, whereas minerals and ore get very complicated. The groundwork certainly is there, but DF geolgy miss a lot of features that makes it fall behind a lot.

Issues with DF geology:
- No geology cross z-planes, partly fixed with DFhack 3dveins
- No dikes <-- This one is huge t. Icelander
- No sills
- No differentiation between metamorphic layers
- Igneous intrusive are not intrusive, just the lowest king of rocks, which should be High-P High-T granulites/eclogites
- No metamorphic Iron
- Hydrothermal deposits, the main source of most ores, is totally absent.