Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: My first custom creature - what is my mistake?  (Read 1629 times)

Pilvenuga

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
My first custom creature - what is my mistake?
« on: August 27, 2020, 01:39:41 am »

So, this is my first attempt at creating a creature from scratch, i've done slight tweaks before this and felt like i got the basics of the raws with dependencies and modularity. The creature is going to be named Forgarn,a species my dwarves will "discover and adopt into dwarven culture" in a world im going to gen.

Rough backstory: in a time before the first age, a snapping turtle man tribe got carried away by a river leading into the caverns. There they evolved to survive the harsh, brutal cavern life (im going to gen the 3 cavern layers as a single layer). However, even uncountable generations of evolving to the climate were not enough to succeed against the creatures that prowl the depths and by the time dwarves breach the caverns and happen upon the nearly extinct species, the forgarn are all too happy to merge into dwarven culture in exchange for safety and perhaps a bit of revenge.

Rough description of the idea i had: bipedal humanoid reptilian - with shell plates on upper body instead of a solid shell they can retreat into. Long claws, might remove those and just make them short nails, depending on if arena testing proves them too strong. Snapping turtle-esque beak and 4 eyes for that scary look. Males have a single horn on their head, females dont. Oh and they're immune to fire, but not magma - that part is rather important, i want them to be able to walk through a forest fire but not be able to swim in magma.