Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Help with giant bears?  (Read 1764 times)

Dwerf

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Help with giant bears?
« on: November 29, 2020, 11:03:12 pm »

Right, so some elves stopped by and I couldn't help but noticing they had a giant female grizzly bear for sale. Obviously, I bought it because its awesome... duh, but uhhhhh, how do I take care of it exactly? It is tamed and still caged, but how can I use it? I am completely new to animals so please explain it as such. That being said can I get a brief rundown on...

1) How do I feed it, does it need to be let out of the cage, does it need to... graze or something? Or does it need goblins fed to it?
2) How do I get it out of the cage?
3) Will it stay trained?
4) Assuming I can get a male, how does one get it to breed?
5) Is it safe around dwarfs? Does it need a special pen? Is it safe underground (I assume not, visitors keep bringing animals down to starve in my tavern)?
6) How can I use this for the defense of my fort and/or conquer the world with giant bears?

tl;dr: Impulse bought a giant bear, I am a dummy, please help.
"With golden roof and silver floor
And runes of power upon the door"
-J. R. R. Tolkien, Song of Durin

Ant

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Help with giant bears?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2020, 12:04:59 am »

1+2) Dwarves should keep it fed if it isn't a [GRAZER], which grizzly isn't. You can release it by choosing (b)uild-cage(j), slapping it down somewhere, and attaching it to a lever (3 mechanisms), after which you can assign it to a dwarf or put it to a pasture (i-draw fitting pasture-n-use shift+n- search freed bear and press enter).
3) caravan brought animals are perma-trained so no problem there