Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Too Many Trade Goods  (Read 1074 times)

0Uncertainty1

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Too Many Trade Goods
« on: December 04, 2020, 05:33:42 pm »

So, I started playing DF last year but eventually stopped due to the extreme stress issues. I recently decided to see if it got fixed and am glad that it has! But I'm running into an issue I had before and that is what do I do with all the crap my dwarves make? I used to play with 200 dwarves but remembering my massive over production and the lack of use for most of my population I am playing with 100 now. But I still make so much crap I don't know what to do with it all.
First year I don't have much but get any books as well as a few handy things. Second year I get anything I could efficiently make use of. By the 3rd year I have a decade worth of food, alcohol and leather/cloth. I get every book I can and any useful metals and still have trade value left. I give large profits (min 100% profit) every trade so they can bring more stuff. I only embark where there are humans so I can off load stuff 2wice a year.
I'm not even making things with trade value in mind, I only use master work furniture in my fort and am pretty much just trading the less than master works stuff. Being some one who hates wastefulness I couldn't stand just putting it in an atomizer or just quantum stockpiling it with no plan to ever use it for anything.
Is there any way to get them to bring more books since that is the only thing that I can never have too many of? It would be nice if I could say "bring me a quarter million dwarf bucks in books next year continue increasing it each year"