Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Plump helmets  (Read 1546 times)

gurthang

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Plump helmets
« on: December 14, 2020, 01:28:35 am »

Hi there,

I am a beginner player. Each game, after the first wave of migrants stes in, my plump helmet plot starts withering and goes empty after a while  >:(

Does it happen because they eat the shrooms faster then my brewer can extract seeds, because I don't have bags to store the seeds, or else? Is there any possibility to prevent the dwarves from eating the helmets? I know it's possible to forbid them to cook the shrooms, but the problem happens even if I don't even set up a kitchen!

Suggestions appreciated  :)

methylatedspirit

• Bay Watcher
  • it/its
    • View Profile
Re: Plump helmets
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2020, 01:44:58 am »

First guess would be that you don't have a food stockpile in your fort, it's somehow blocked, or it's full. Either way, this means that your dwarves won't harvest your plump helmets and they'll wither, since they have nowhere to put them and they'll just leave them there. It's under "p" for stockpile, then "f" for food. Then you just designate like normal.

PatrikLundell

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2020, 03:41:40 am »

Yes, as mentioned, it's caused by a lack of food stockpile space. If there isn't any space dorfs will harvest the plants but then drop them on the farm plots.

A food stockpile has the magic property of preventing food from going bad, so food should always be kept in food stockpiles (Booze won't go bad, but eventually it will clutter the brewery, resulting in a slowdown of brewing).