Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Antman Colony?  (Read 1258 times)

VABritto

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Antman Colony?
« on: January 02, 2021, 09:24:28 pm »

Hey there guys, I am thinking of trying my hand for the first time in modding and have an idea for a mod about Antmen. But since I have never done this before, I just wanted to know from the more experienced modders if what I am thinking of doing is even doable (if so, I'll look up how to do it. If not, at least I know not to waste my time trying this one. And if maybe, I can experiment on it and bring back my findings to you).

What I plan on attempting, regarding the Creatures themselves:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Regarding their Civilization:

This is what I want to do for starters. But again, I've never modded before so I am not sure most of this is even possible. I will research it, but if any good hearted veteran Modder would be so kind as to tell me if any of this is impossible in the game, I'd be thankful!

Either way, will keep you updated as I go along. I'll do so very slowly because I am pretty busy with IRL obligations, but I want to do this to relax on my down time :)
« Last Edit: January 06, 2021, 12:21:39 pm by VABritto »

VABritto

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Antman Colony?
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2021, 12:01:24 pm »

Hey folks, it's me again. I was wondering, how does one check for the reason why your files are not being loaded? I made a Creature (that I called myrmidon so not to edit the ant_man creature) and made an entity for it. But when I try it out, it doesn't appear in the world_history nor as a population in the world_sites_and_pops files. But I also can't really say why it isn't working. I read that the game will not read a file if it is invalid, but how can I tell if it is or not?

This is the creature I made (I copied a lot from dwarves, just to get it started) :