Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Tilesets on PRINT MODE TEXT and beard faces  (Read 3839 times)

ElioNETO-trad

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Tilesets on PRINT MODE TEXT and beard faces
« on: January 18, 2021, 07:20:08 am »

Hello everyone,

this is my very first post on this forum. First of all, I'd like to say thanks for creating this amazing game. I've been playing Dwarf Fortress for a couple months now and I'm totally loving it!

However, despites this great game, unfortunately I hardly have time to play it as I would like and so I started looking other possibilities on how could I play it. I spend at least 2 hours per day on public transport and I wondered if it could be possible to play this game on the go. It has been 2 months now and I finally managed to make it work ! There aren't alot of tutorials, But I've found a way to play DF on my smartphone, via Termux and Ubuntu. The experience is not as good as playing on PC, but I can have fun.

With these manipulations, I have some questions :

1 - In order to make DF run on Ubuntu emulated via Termux, I had to change the init.txt and set the setting PRINT_MODE to TEXT. I'm not quite sure what does it do, could anyone explain to me what is the difference between 2D and Text mode? I didn't find anything really useful on the web.

2 - I would like to know if it is possible to put some tilesets as PRINT_MODE set to TEXT ? I tried installing some tilesets by myself but the game says I need to change this parameter to make the tileset work. However, when I change it, I can not longer run DF because it says I need a graphical output. I'm now trying to discover a way out to solve this issue. I was thinking maybe I could implant some sort of GUI environnement on Termux, but had no success so far.