Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Is getting into making DF tilesets worth it at this point?  (Read 4583 times)

darthbrumbledore

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Is getting into making DF tilesets worth it at this point?
« on: February 14, 2021, 09:14:53 pm »

Specifically, I'm asking if it's worth it to the community. I'm just getting into pixel art and think making a tileset would be worth it for my own progress, so I'll probably be working on one anyhow, but more generally, is there a future in DF tilesets with the Steam release coming out? How many of you intend to still play classic DF over Steam?

I want to give back to the DF community, but tilesets aren't the only way to do so.

Shonai_Dweller

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Is getting into making DF tilesets worth it at this point?
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2021, 10:18:17 pm »

Tilesets are still going to be a thing after Steam regardless of where anyone downloads their game from.

Especially those of us who play without graphics will be waiting for a tileset creator to make a non-graphical set with all the features Steam update is bringing (like a whole separate worldmap tileset, woot).  Doubt anything official is going to appear.

And the graphics users who are used to certain graphics styles (Spacefox, Gemset, Mephset) are all going to be wanting to use non-official sets.

The main barrier to getting into tileset making right now is that the info on changes being made for Steam release (which is still at least a year away probably) isn't available to the modding community yet (as far as I know).

Well, that and it looks like coming close to the level of complexity the official set will offer is going to be a heck of a lot more work than it is right now.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2021, 10:25:04 pm by Shonai_Dweller »

Bumber

• Bay Watcher
  • REMOVE KOBOLD
    • View Profile