Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Yet another DF World Generation question  (Read 1435 times)

DollMaker

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Yet another DF World Generation question
« on: February 28, 2021, 07:26:04 am »

Hi everyone! My name is Artem. I started playing Dwarf Fortress about 10 years ago and still play it from time to time. It's a facinating game in many aspects and I wanted to say thank you to the creator and this awesome community.
There is one thing I have been wondering about recently. Its not about the gameplay, but rather about the game itself. I didn't know where to ask this question and didn't find any forum topic for questions like this so I'll ask it here. I hope it's okay. I also have to apologize for my English.

Recently I became interested in the world generation aspect of this game. I have always liked how this game can re-create any world exactly the same each time if you use the same seed values over and over. I read about procedural generated worlds, about different ways to do this kind of stuff, and the complex approach Dwarf Fortress use. Mostly, I got the info from a couple of interviews with Toady that are exist in the web (like this, and this). I know that DF generates worlds by doing a robust work on randomization and simulation things like tectonic plates, mountains, temperature, drainage, rainfalls and so on.

What I don't understand is on what level of abstraction Dwarf Fortress operates the world when generating it? Most articles and information on the internet which cover procedural world generation view this "world generation" thing as just "lets generate a 2D map in several dimensions, some of them are: elevation, temperature, etc." And the map in these cases is usually not that big and the smallest "tile" in these algorithms is usually a very large area in the resulting world.