Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Is my magma too far away from my fort?  (Read 722 times)

rungus

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Is my magma too far away from my fort?
« on: February 28, 2021, 10:31:53 am »

I'm still learning the ropes and using a bunch of dfhack cheats to stave off disasters in my current fortress while I learn how things work, and my next thing I want to experiment with is magma forges, magma smelters, etc. When I 'reveal' the map, I find that there are, if I remember correctly, 135 z levels to dig down through between the bottom of my current fortress and the beginning of the magma.

I guess my first question is: is this normal? Is it supposed to be so big?
Also, do you think it's a reasonable distance to commute every day for my workdwarves? It seems like a long way to me.
Or would you suggest that I find a way to bring lava up nearer to my now quite large fortress? If so, what's the easiest way to do that?
The only other option is that I rebuild my entire fortress nearer the magma, which would also be a lot of faffing about.
Or that I start a new fort in a volcano, I suppose, seeing as I'm learning the ropes and mucking around still.

How far do you think is too far to commute for a workdwarf?

Oh, and what's going on with 'helmet snakes'? A helmet snake attacked one of my dwarves today and in the fight report, there was a line 'the helmet snake stands up'. Like, is that normal? Does your helmet snake stand up like that? How do snakes stand up? Some kind of strange magic, no doubt.

Thanks!

Loam

• Bay Watcher
  • a Moal
    • View Profile
Re: Is my magma too far away from my fort?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2021, 11:56:38 am »

135z is very deep, but not (AFAIK) unnaturally so, especially if you've embarked on a high-elevation area (like a mountain) and have all three cavern layers enabled.